home Visit The building

The building
The building

Palazzo Spini Feroni is a Medieval palace originally built in 1289 by Geri Spini, a wealthy merchant and banker to Pope Boniface VIII. It has known several owners over the centuries, from the Spini family to the Guasconi, Bagnano and Feroni families.

Chiudi

The building

In 1846, the City of Florence bought the palace and, from 1860 to 1870, when Florence was the capital of Italy, Palazzo Spini Feroni became the seat of the City Council. It returned to private ownership in 1881 when it was sold to a bank, the Cassa di Risparmio, and Salvatore Ferragamo purchased the palace in 1938, making it the headquarters of his company and the location of his workshop.
The building’s restoration was completed in 2000 and its rooms now proudly showcase masterpieces of seventeenth and eighteenth century Florentine art, including frescoes by Bernardino Poccetti in the chapel of the palace.
The underground floor, where the museum is situated, reveals the building’s Medieval roots. Over the centuries it has been used for many different purposes and in the early twentieth century it housed one of the city’s most famous antiques galleries.

Bernardino Poccetti,
Paradise with a Choir of Musician Angels
(detail), chapel, ceiling,
1609-1612.

Ranieri del Pace,
Agamemnon and Menelaus
(detail of the fresco in the gallery),
first decade of the 18th century.

Benedetto Fortini and Ranieri del Pace,
perspective and figurative frescoes (detail), vault of a room on the second floor, first decade of the 18th century.

Lorenzo Merlini,
stucco cherub on the alcove capitals,
first decade of the 18th century.

View of Palazzo Spini Feroni
from Ponte Santa Trinita.

Full view of Palazzo Spini Feroni
from Via dei Tornabuoni and Piazza Santa Trinita.

Entrance to Palazzo Spini Feroni
with nineteenth century decorations and frescoes.

View of Palazzo Spini Feroni
from Ponte Santa Trinita.